reported speech(間接話法)について

普段の会話の中で、「●●さんがこんなことを言っていたよ」という表現方法はreported speech(間接話法)と言います。

(反対は直接話法direct speech

 

この間接話法はheやsheなどが混乱してしまう、日本人が苦手なところですね。

direct speechとreported speechの違い

direct speechの例

 

What do you usually do on the weekends?

 

I usually meet with my friends.

 

あなたと私の二者間で成り立つ会話ですよね。

 

 

reported speechの例

 

What does your sister do on the weekends?

 

She usually meets with her friends.

 

自分のことではなく、妹のことを説明するので、第三者のことを説明するという話方になります。

 

reported speechに挑戦してみよう①

 

 

Peter:”Please tell Hanako to give me my DVD back.”

 

(花子に私のDVDを返すように言ってくれ)

 

この内容をPeterから頼まれた私は、花子さんに伝えないといけません。

 

Peter told me to tell you to give him his DVD back.

reported speechに挑戦してみよう②

Peter: "Tell Hanako that I am going drinking with her husband and she can pick us up at the station at 11:00 pm."

 

(花子に僕は彼女の夫と飲みに行くから11時に駅に迎えにくるように言ってくれ)

 

伝言を頼まれた私は、花子さんにこの内容を伝えます。

 

Peter said that he is going drinking with your husband and that you can pick them up at the station at 11:00 pm.

 

是非、色々練習してみてくださいね!